What languages do you know?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What languages do you know?

Not sure why I haven't asked this before.

Personally, English of course.

Studied Japanese off and on for a few years, started taking it more seriously, taking classes, looking at going to Japan for study. Still basic, though, of course.

Though I studied Spanish in school for around three years, am half Hispanic, and really should know it, I barely remember any of it. Intend to study it again sometime.

Annnnnnd I've picked up French recently.

I still consider myself to be monolingual, though, and that annoys me.

Re: What languages do you know?

Portuguese (hurr?)
    English
    Spanish
    A little french
    I can probably order a dinner in Italy, also.
    signatures are for pussies mew mew mew, here's mine

Comment

French
      English
      Few word Spanish

Comment

Tu perro es muy feo y tonto.
        Dos hamburesa con lechuga y tomato, no cebollas, por favor.

That's about as far as i go with Spanish. Funny thing is, you could probably throw people who spoke spanish, french or german at me and I'd probably catch on to what they were saying pretty quickly. And I'm pretty good with people with thick dialects from other corners of the world.

For whatever reason, I always find myself playing the interpreter wherever I'm working. My family finds it strange because I'm not the most social person out there.

But as for learning to speak any language myself, I just can't retain much of it. Studied spanish for years and still can't speak it well for the life of me, but I could read or listen to it and know what was going on. Plus I love mexican food and i'm inundated with spanish-language TV programming while I'm at those places. Mostly soccer, but sometimes also other programming. They even seem to like running the re-broadcasted games.