Short stroking a RAID0 array, ReadyBoost and RAM disks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Short stroking a RAID0 array, ReadyBoost and RAM disks

I'm in the process of both getting way more RAM (16GB DDR3 1600 since it's so freaking cheap) and to receive my first USB 3.0 flash drive (16GB.)

This will enable me to both create a well sized RAM disk (thinking 6GB right now) and to use a very fast USB drive for ReadyBoost. But since I have no experience on either I'd like to ask people here about their experiences with both.

Also going to reinstall windows to short stroke at 20% capacity (2TB raid array, I'd like to go with 10% but 200GB just wouldn't cut it.)

Anyway, my questions are about:

- How good is a ram disk when used as a ReadyBoost device compared to an actual USB 3.0 drive?
    Mainly thinking about startup times because I usually turn off my computer every day both to save electricity and because I don't feel that comfortable leaving my cute computer working unattended (/paranoia +1 I'm afraid.) So the cache will be deleted on a daily basis. Even if short stroking the RAID array may speed up RAM disk reloading times a bit.

- Which RAM disk software has worked the best for you?
    Because even though I've read about a few programs that sound pretty good, I still would like to make a more informed purchase (if the software isn't free dist) since there's too much noise on the interwebs about it.

- If anyone has any experience with short stroking HDDs I want to know if making a partition with the remaining space is a good idea* or if I should just leave the empty space unpartitioned in case the additional partition(s) end up affecting seek times in some way.

Any help/opinions would be appreciated.

* Not going to use it for anything that would be read at the same time as the program/system files of course. For that would destroy any advantages of shortstroking in the first place.