Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building My 1st Computer

Hi everyone

So the christmas holidays have passed and I got a motherboard . This is my first time building a computer and I only know the bare minimum. I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction for computer cases and video cards. There are so many to choose from and I have no clue what to look for. Also I heard intel is comming out with new processors next year. Will this cause a price drop on the i7s? Thanks alot for your help! Also if anyone have some pointers or tips please share.

Re: Building My 1st Computer

Originally posted by Zempten View Post
    lso I heard intel is comming out with new processors next year. Will this cause a price drop on the i7s?
    Yes.

However, prices will always drop. You'll never buy anything if you wait for that to stop happening. All I'm going to say is buying the absolute latest is a waste of money. What was top of the line 6-9 months ago is still very powerful, really only a hair less then what is the best right now, and has fallen in price to be a much better buy.

The latest is priced so high to take advantage of people who must have the latest shiny thing. Don't be taken advantage of.

Also get a case that can takes 120mm fans for intake and exhaust, then look for quiet 120mm fans. They can move as much, or more, air then a 80 or 92mm but can be much quieter doing it.
    I use a Mac because I'm just better than you are.

HTTP Error 418 - I'm A Teapot - The resulting entity body MAY be short and stout.

loose

Comment

What motherboard you have determines what case you buy, because the case has to accomodate the size of the motherboard. Other than that, it's up to what you're looking for. Find one with a decent amount of space for fans and that looks good. Always read the reviews.