Motherboards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motherboards

I got curious about what upgrades I had to choose from when selecting a new motherboard. This is my current motherboard, but there's one major drawback. The second PCI-E slot is x16, but only runs at x4, which is ridiculous, because it's supposed to be Crossfire X ready. I suspect the first x16 slot to be running at only x8, too. That's also pretty ridiculous. Other than that it's fine.

I've never done this before, so I've got a few questions before I dive in.

Firstly, does each board come with it's own metal cover that it will fit into so that it's properly exposed from the back of the computer? I would be severely limited if I had to choose boards with the USB, sound, etc. ports on back that were arranged exactly the same way.

Wouldn't it be important to find a board with two PCI-E 2.0 slots that could both run graphics cards in x16 mode? I can't seem to find one that doesn't drop both slots down to x8 mode when running dual graphics cards. Sure, two cards at half speed would be just as good as one card at full speed, but the point is to replace one high-end card with two that are slightly cheaper, all for better performance, right?

Thanks

Re: Motherboards

First question: Yes they come with a cover set up for each mb.

Second question: I disagree with the 2 cheaper cards are just as good or better than one high end card. But if thats the way you see it then it does no good to argue the point.
    Originally posted by Feba
    But I mean I do not mind a good looking man so long as I do not have to view his penis.
    Originally posted by Taskmage
    God I hate my periods. You think passing a clot through a vagina is bad? Try it with a penis.
    Originally posted by DakAttack
    ...I'm shitting dicks out of my eyeballs in excitement for the next bestgreating game of all time ever.

Comment

Originally posted by TheGrandMom View Post