am i stupid?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• am i stupid?

im new to the game. i was looking at a dragoon/monk combo.. but i havn't seen anything on the forums about it. is it possible? is there any good points about a drg/mnk combo? or am i just being stupid. thanks in advance

Re: am i stupid?

DRG/MNK... it worked in Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, but doesn't work very well here.

Reason being that MNK doesn't have much of a diverse function outside of hitting stuff. Boost is a nice small attack buff, but better for Warrior tanking since it generates hate and keeps the enemy glued to a Warrior so it doesn't hit other members. But even Warrior tanking is rare in FFXI.

Good combinations for Dragoon are:

Dragoon/Warrior - Attack bonus, Double Attack, Berserk all help DRG dish out more damage.

Dragoon/Samurai - Hasso gives a bonus to strength, adds a Haste effect; Seigan adds the ability to evade attacks better through the use of Third Eye. There is also TP bonuses from SAM's job abilities and Meditate, which let us use Weaponskills (i.e. Limit Break) more often. Hasso and Seigan only apply to two-handed weapon users, which is what DRG is since they use a lance.

Dragoon/White Mage (see also /Red Mage and /Blue mage) - What to play a Freya-style or Khimari-style Dragoon? Here's that option. All "mage" jobs will allow you to cast spells that make your wyvern heal party members under specific conditions. This is also a great for soloing.

Dragoon/Thief - THF's Sneak Attack and Trick Attack abilities allow DRG to play a deeper role in hate control as well as doing more spike damage.

There are some other combinations, but the ones I've listed are the most common and play to the diverse aspects of the job.

Comment

thanks heaps for that champ think ill go dragoon/samurai

Comment

I would say that many job/support job combinations which work at lower levels do not necessarily work at higher level, and vice versa.

Party Use: