This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Early Job Switching

I just started playing on Friday evening...
    And, I have gotten my main Job, WAR, to level 10.

I realize that I won't be able to successfully get a SubJob until at least level 18...

But, I wanted to know if it would be a good idea to go ahead and start leveling another Job...That way, I have at least 2 Jobs that are pretty decent levels once I get further along into the game, without hindering my "would be" PT.

I eventually want to be a Dark Knight or a Paladin.
    And, I know that Warrior is a good SubJob for the Paladin...
    But, I wanted to try out how effective a Red Mage would be for one or both a Paladin and a Dark Knight.

|Alchemy: 3|Cooking: 3|Smithing: 1|Fishing: 1|
    ====================

Re: Early Job Switching

There's no harm in it, just a bit of time commitment. At lower levels, most of the gear can be shared between jobs, broken into mage armor and melee armor (and then there's Monks). So the only gil investment would be weapons (and if you buy those in shops and sell them on the AH when you're done, you generally profit) and spells. Plus you get a chance to try other jobs out, and you end up with a good amount of crystals, beastman's seals, and items.
    Ellipses on Fenrir
    There is no rush. If you're not willing to take your time, don't be surprised when no one wants to give you much of theirs.
    . . .

Comment

it's not.
      90% of the time /war is the only subjob for PLD (and for a reason). /rdm is quite pointless.
      same for DRK (mostly /war or /thf).

leveling another job is always a good idea. It'll allow for greater flexibility for various events (BCNM, Missions, etc.).

If you don't mind some advice, I would recommend you level WHM to at least 36. The utility it would provide is priceless.