Coming back, will I have the time?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coming back, will I have the time?

Greetings! I'm a veteran player, starting on PC when it first was introduced in the US, having leveled pretty much every job besides MNK (Minus the new jobs in the newer expansions) to 60+. I LOVED this game, everything about it. The party system was quite enjoyable with the friends I developed over the years and the community was great.

Due to a mac switch (before the intels) and a few friends crossing over to WoW, i've done that for the past few years. And actually, ever since then I've been craving to get back to FFXI.

Now, lately in the past year I've been struck down busy. I'm a musician, playing the oboe, and quite frankly I can't devote as much time playing games as I have in the past. Will the waiting 6+ hours for a party be in the same effect? I liked playing everything, mind you, support jobs being my all time favorite.

With the introduction of the 14 day trial, I'm eager to see how the community has changed, though I'm worried it may not be enough time to form some bonds with other people (used to the static party way of leveling.) I miss this game greatly, but remembering it's massive time sync, is it possible to play with only spending a few hours or so a day, and actually *get* somewhere, considering I'm starting anew? I'm a friendly player that researched game mechanics often, I just hope that there's a LS out there that will be helpful to someone starting fresh again.
    Last edited by Landed; 11-08-2008, 08:16 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Re: Coming back, will I have the time?