{New Computer}{Advice}{Can I Have It?}

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• {New Computer}{Advice}{Can I Have It?}

I'm currently working on piecing together a new system for myself. My current main PC gets the job done as far as FFXI goes, but newer games are pretty much out due to it's age. I was a manager at CompUSA before they liquidated, so I managed to get a few things towards my new computer with my limited funds, but when the discounts got reasonably good, the ebayers and craigslister's swarmed in, and any parts that were worth buying quickly vanished.

At any rate, I'd managed to get my proc (Core2Quad Q6600), mobo (Asus P5K Deluxe), couple SATA dvd burners, and Vista Home Premium (which I don't really WANT but I figured with newer hardware it was in my best interests to upgrade the OS as well). I still need RAM, Hdd, and Videocard...

The thing is, I was an idiot and didn't look closely enough at my Mobo, and much to my chagrin it's a Crossfire board. I have no experience with crossfire at all (given the choice I woulda gone SLI), and honestly have no experience with the current Radeon cards...I've been looking online at Newegg and such but all the cards advertise their multimedia capabilities, but don't really go too much into the gaming aspect like the Nvidia cards do. Does anyone have any advice on a good Radeon card that's somewhat future-proof? I am interested in going crossfire at some point, so it needs to support that, but I'm probably gonna stick with a single one for a while and save up for a second.

Also, anyone have any experience with Gskill brand memory? They seem to have decent prices and specs but most reviews only go into "it worked" and aren't specific with gaming and multitasking. I'm a huge multitasker, always have like 4-6 programs running at the same time, so I'm going at least 4 gigs of memory, and maybe 8 at some point if I can find decently rated 2 Gb sticks.

Anyways, thanks for any advice you guys can spare.