X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just an Idea on Economy (Long Post)

Hi everyone,

This post is for www.FFXIONLINE.com
    I’m Plenum from server Ifrit. I would like to propose an idea to the FFXI community, although my plan may seem idealist in a sense it is plausible and sensible. I have been playing FFXI since October 2003. I am a North American player. I would like to address the problem with the economy not only in my server by the entire world of FFXI.

There is a serious problem with economy whether you would like admit or not. MMORPGS are not much different from our real world, where people are forced to interact with one another. You cannot disagree that the world of FFXI is a complete lassie-faire or capitalistic market. But even a lassie-faire market needs regulations that is why I propose to you the idea of making governing bodies in FFXI.

Before I begin yes I know this is totally idealistic and highly unlikely that we can get the members of FFXI to cooperate. Especially with language barriers and age barriers and lack of maturity of our fellow adventurers, this idea may indeed be impossible; but I would like to bring it anyway.

This governing body is directed towards high level crafters who have a very high (unknown percentage) ownership of the market. Now we all know that Crafters often make a lot of money via crafting and farming. So we do hold the responsibility of offering our goods at a reasonable price. When we make something and sell it we want to make money, this is a basic principle of selling. We make the prices up by seeing what others have sold it for in the Auction House. That has long been the tradition of FFXI economy; sell at the price the last person sold it for and should it not sell you would ideally undercut their price.