PUP merits

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PUP merits

I've just recently levelled PUP to 99. I thouroughly enjoy the job, but don't really know where I should put my merits. So far, I've put them into Shijin Spiral (2 so far, will go to 5) to last me until I get Stringing Pummel. I mainly use my automaton as my own personal healer, mostly with the WHM head but occasionally with the RDM head.

I was thinking the Group 1's would be Automaton Magic and Melee skill 5/5. For Group 2 I was thinking Optimization 5/5, Fine-tuning 3/3, and one each in Role Reversal and Ventriloquy (more just to have it then I know what the use would be).

I'm still new to the job and don't consider myself a very good PUP at this point, but I would love any suggestions and the reasoning behind it (if it isn't blatantly obvious).

Thank you in advance.
    99 DNC
    99 WHM
    99 WAR
    * 99 THF
    99 BLM * 99 RDM *
    99 PUP

TWASHTAR

Re: PUP merits

I think what u got there is pretty much where I have my merits

An merits are so easy to get now so u can so always try it out an switch later

Comment

Originally posted by Squiggs View Post
      I was thinking the Group 1's would be Automaton Magic and Melee skill 5/5. For Group 2 I was thinking Optimization 5/5, Fine-tuning 3/3, and one each in Role Reversal and Ventriloquy (more just to have it then I know what the use would be).
      Group 2 you got right. That's exactly where I put my own.

As for Group 1, Magic skill is a waste of merits. Now that the level cap was raised to 99, you can gain access to all of your automaton spells without any merits at all. The only thing that meriting Magic would do is give your automaton a tiny bit more MAcc.

My advice is to ignore Magic Skill completely and go 5/5 Melee and 5/5 Range. Those will both augment damage output while Magic will do nearly nothing.