Why I retired from woodworking...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why I retired from woodworking...

This is probably more of a rant than a useful post, but I'm curious as to what other woodworkers have experienced.

When I started playing the game, I knew that I'd eventually need a set of elemental staves. In my naive-ness, I decided "Okay, I'll make my own by leveling woodworking as my primary craft!" Well obviously, the time to get my staves has come and gone and I purchased them from the AH rather than making them myself.

My woodworking skill is currently level 75. It's been 75 for atleast 9 months now (I've only been playing a year and a half). It's occured to me that this is a dead-end craft for me, and I've since retired it to take up Alchemy.

- There are no reasonable synths to skill with past 75. Any synth I've tried to skillup requires making non-stackable items, and/or items that are a significant loss of gil to make. Even making commodes or cabinets which will profit me a whole 2-3k, i can only make about 10 per week if I sell them on the AH.

- No elemental staves. Yes this was something I assumed out of being a naive beginner, but unless you're 100+3 in woodworking, there's no point of even attempting to make these things. The prices of ore make NQing them a HUGE loss. And if you can't seem to reach 100+3... Blah.

- The arrow "nerf". I don't think I've seen anybody but myself call this a nerf, and I'm sure many people will disagree. The changes to arrow/bolt making skills were a nerf to woodworkers in my opinion. With arrow/bolt head stacks increased to 99k, it is nearly impossible to find stacks of heads on the AH, and they have asinine prices when I *do* find them. As a result, unless I make my own heads (which requires additional leveling of other, somewhat expensive crafts), I can no longer readily obtain my synthesis materials.